What? not Why!

Posted: October 21, 2015 in Sales Success
Tags: , , , ,

  
The most important question you can ask yourself today is, “What can I learn from this?” As in life, most of your ideas you are selling today are going to get rejected by customers. When we get told No, we take it personally and begin to ask the wrong  questions.  With a defeated mindset, we ask questions such as, “What’s wrong with me?” “Have I lost my touch?” “Is my reign of good fortune over? (Maybe I need to move on)” These questions create chatter in your mind that begin to subtract from your self-confidence and personal growth. 

In no time you’ve kicked yourself down Losers Lane and have to begin a personal crusade to fight back to your ground zero.  Thus the cycle begins- we hack away until we get back to “normal,” then the tides turn- things don’t go our way- we lose our “hot hand,” we doubt, verbally beat ourselves up, feel defeated, and abort our efforts choosing to sit and sulk instead of standing back up and swinging.  Sound familiar? 

When the shift hits the fan and things don’t seem to be going your way- when the reigns of success try to turn cloudy and rain self-doubt and pity, catch yourself and ask, “What can I learn from this: split deal, customer bought elsewhere, deal couldn’t get bought or blew out of finance, or they came back but didn’t ask for me?” Find the lessons and make adjustments not excuses. That line of questioning will keep you in a growth, forward moving mindset. 

No retreat, no surrender- forever I’ll be selling. 
I’m proud of you!  
I’ll see you out there on the Blacktop. 

Leave a Reply

